We are so excited to introduce our Board of Advisors for 2018/19.  These distinguished individuals were selected from an overwhelming response to a public appeal in early 2018.  They are a working board of nine community members who have a passion for the arts and compassion for our mission to sustain a platform dedicated to the art of Afro-centric storytelling. They've also made a financial commitment towards our organizational objectives as advocates for the arts and the power it carries to transform communities.  We are honored to have them in dedicated, uncompromising service.  

board of advisors

Antonio Henson


Board Member

Vice President of Community Development Banking - PNC Bank.  Tony Henson has over 25 years of experience in structuring project financing designed to spur neighborhood revitalization efforts in communities throughout the State of New Jersey and Metro Atlanta. 

Doris Derby


Board Member 

Dr. Doris Derby is a retired Professor, Georgia State University, a Civil Rights Documentary Photographer, Archivist, ​Activist, Author, Exhibitor, Speaker, Art Collector​, Professor​, ​​C​o-FounderFree Southern Theater,  ​Co-Producer, Film, “Dirt and Deeds in Mississippi” . Dr. Derby is also the 2017 recipient of the ABTF Theatre Legend Award.

Jeanette Hill


Board Member 

Jeanette Hill is a multiple award-winning playwright/producer. Her work portrays the trials and triumphs of African Americans with an authentic voice.  She is a creative activist and founder of JWHill Productions LLC, a theater company based in Texas.

Valencia Griffin-Wallace


Board Member 

International Speaker/Presenter, Best Selling Author and Publisher (Motherless Child and Through The Valley), Founder of Define U, LLC which includes Define U Radio and The MOVE Experience.  Based in Louisiana. 

Keith Franklin


Board Member 

A multiple award winning actor and the Artistic Director of Atlanta's New African Grove Theatre Company.  Keith Franklin brings over 40 years experience in various theatrical endeavors and is a huge advocate for the arts in Atlanta. 

Sanika Harris


Board Member 

Sanika Harris is an actor, playwright, producer, Master Cosmetologist, theatre/tv/film make-up artist and costume designer. Sanika Harris is also a past participant and avid supporter of the Atlanta Black Theatre Festival. 

Elizabeth Wilson


Board Member 

Executive Director of the Georgia Micro Enterprise Network, Vice President of Economic Development COGIC Urban Initiatives, grant-writer, fundraiser, non-profit capacity builder, professional speaker, business consultant, and author.

A'ndrea Wilson


Interim Advisory Board Chair

Dr. A’ndrea J. Wilson is an award-winning author and playwright, screenwriter, publisher, and the Braida Endowed Chair of Creative Writing at Grand View University. Her plays have been featured at notable theatre festivals around the country, including the Atlanta Black Theatre Festival and the National Black Theatre Festival.

Taurean Blacque


Lifetime Honorary Advisory Board Chair

The first recipient of the Atlanta Black Theatre Festival Theatre Legend Award, Taurean Blaque is a prolific stage, NAACP Image Award winning and Emmy nominated actor. 

After becoming one of the first single African-American men in the country to adopt a child, in 1989 he was asked by President George H. W. Bush to serve as the national spokesman for adoption. Blaque has since adopted 11 children. He credits his strong Christian faith for his desire to adopt.